What is Star Wars Squadrons?

GIQUE out with us.

Here’s a quick glimpse at the first Star Wars Squadrons footage.

Star Wars fans can rejoice as a new Star Wars game is on it’s way.

About Star Wars Squadrons

Star Wars: Squadrons is an intense first-person view piloting game set in the Star Wars universe. It contains both a single-player campaign and multiple multiplayer game modes. It is fully playable in Virtual Reality. The vast majority of the game, other than cutscenes, takes place entirely in the cockpit of various iconic Star Wars ships.

Star Wars Squadrons Release Date

The game will be releaseed on October 2nd, 2020. It will be available on PC, Xbox One, and PS4. On PC it will support all major headsets such as Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, and Valve Index plus PSVR support on PS4.

Squadrons is set just after the destruction of the second death star, where the Imperial Fleet is still a threat despite the death of Palpatine, Vader and a serious blow to the Dark side.

In Squadrons you can pick your side and choose between a Jedi Fighter Pilot, and an Imperial Squadron Leader through a full single player mode. You can also choose to play the entire game in VR if you wish, or stick to the more traditional gameplay.

Star Wars Squadrons Tie Fighters

Which Republic Ships Are In Star Wars: Squadrons?

According to EA (they should know!) There are four Republic ships to choose from including X-Wing, A-Wing, Y-Wing, and U-Wing. Specific details on each are as follows:

X-Wingthe most balanced between firepower and defense and is the go-to “fighter” ship of the Republic. You can think of this as being similar to a base “assault” class in an FPS.

A-Wing: this is an “interceptor” class ships which are faster and more maneuverable than fighters.

U-Wingthis is the support class ship for the Republic, it can provide supplies and repairs to allies and also disrupt enemy systems to make them easier targets.

Y-Wing: these are the “bomber” ships for use against large enemy vessels in Fleet Assault.

Star Wars Squadrons Fleet base

Which Empire Ships Are In Star Wars: Squadrons?

There are four Empire ships to choose from including a TIE Fighter, TIE Interceptor, TIE Reaper, and TIE Bomber. Specific details on each are as follows:

TIE Fighter: similar to an X-Wing, but a bit faster and no shields.

TIE Interceptor: similar to an A-Wing with even more speed and manoeuvrability.

TIE Reaper: this is usually used to transport troops but will take on the support role here.

TIE Bomber: similar to the Y-Wing for functionality.

The Squadrons cockpits

Looking at the trailer, it does seem to give you a real sense of being on active duty as a pilot, and the visuals in and outside the cockpit look incredible. The entire game is played through first-person which again looks as if it will add to the experience and feel of being a genuine pilot in galactic space battles.

Star Wars Squadrons Gameplay

According to Creative Director Ian Frazier, “The whole game is designed from the ground up to be first-person all the way through,” Frazier told Gamespot. “You are the pilot. All the diegetic information is built into the hud, so you could turn off all the game layer UI if you want and rely entirely on your instruments. We want that to be the core experience.”

You’ll play as a team of five, working together to take down the enemy and achieve your objectives. You’ll be able to customise your ships cosmetically and for performance purposes. You’ll also have the option to increase your weaponry, shields and handling performance.

Star Wars Squadrons won’t have micro-transactions or constant add-ons. In other words, what you buy is everything you should get.

Star Wars Squadrons game

Share this article


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.